Posted on

Gov Canyon

Since returning from the Appalachian Trail I have made it out to Government Canyon the past two weekends. Both days have been exceedingly hot. I did the perimeter route which is my usual hike for this time of year. Next month, when the back trails open, I will be able to hike the Cave Creek and Black Hill Trails, my favorites. Here is a Google map of the GPS tracks of the perimeter route.

During the hike yesterday (August 9, 2008) I was able to capture a nice photo of White mouth dayflower (also known as Erect dayflower, Slender dayflower, Widow’s tears, Sand dayflower)  and Violet wild petunia (also known as Wild petunia, Violet ruella, Common wild petunia (PictureThis app)).

 

White mouth dayflower
White mouth dayflower, Commelina erecta
Violet wild petunia
Violet wild petunia, Ruellia nudiflora.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *