Posted on

…and then a hog snorted…

Government Canyon might have a lot of wildlife but I haven’t really seen much on my myriad of hikes out there. I have seen a few dear, a couple of wild hogs, a porcupine, a rattlesnake, a coyote. But these are always the exception and really make the hike better.

Today a hog snorted at me. I was on Caroline’s Loop, near the 2 marker and I heard a distinctive snort. I peered into the brush but could not make out anything. But I could imagine a big yellow hog eye staring back at me, maybe a feral boar, with boar’s feet stamping at the ground looking for a charge angle. I saw that once in a movie, I think it was The Thornbirds. I know the feral hogs play a predominant role in Old Yeller. Anyway I continued to stare and it continued to snort and I finally moved on. No chance for a picture there.

The wildflowers are not blooming in Government Canyon. But there is an abundance of Mountain Laurel and that is always welcome. The cactus seem ready to bloom, maybe next week.

Government Canyon
Texas mountain laurel (Sophora secundiflora), Government Canyon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *