Posted on

Government Canyon Update

It’s been some time since I last posted to my blog. Blame college football season for that. I have not been negligent in going to Government Canyon though and am hitting the back country trails each week. This involves some variation with Cave Creek Trail. For example, today’s hike was Far Reaches > Twin Oaks > Black Hill Loop (8 to 32) and then Cave Creek back to Parking D. It is about 12.5 miles. Check the map for GPS tracks.

Velvet leaf senna
Velvet leaf senna, Senna lindheimeriana

I captured several nice photos of Morning Glory and Lindheimer Senna. Also, I have seen a few feral hogs this past month. Coming down Cave Creek I could hear them rooting along the pathway and carefully came upon one. But, by the time I had my camera out it had scooted up the trail.

I plan to add to the Grand Canyon pages a bit today, where I left off. I believe I am on Hedy’s trip over Spring Break in 2004.

Velvet leaf senna is also known as Lindheimer’s senna, Velvet leaf wild sensitive plant, Velvetleaf senna, Puppy-dog Ears (PictureThis app).

Ivy-leaved morning-glory
Ivy-leaved morning-glory, Ipomoea hederacea

Ivy-leaved morning glory is also known as Ivyleaf morning glory, Ivyleaf morning-glory, Woolly morning-glory (PictureThis app).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *