Posted on

New Hance

Viv and I are set to go on the New Hance Trail this coming March. We’ll arrive in Tuscayan in the afternoon of March 12 and probably stay at the Seven Mile Lodge. Our first hiking day will take us down the Hance Trail. We will probably park at the Grandview parking area and get a taxi to the trailhead. That can be scouted out after we arrive in Tuscayan.

According to my Falcon Guide, The New Hance Trail is the South Rim’s most difficult trail. I have been preparing since November so expect to be trail ready in March.

March 13 we will hike down the New Hance to the Colorado River. March 14 we will hike along the Colorado to the Hance Creek use area and March 15 we will camp on Horseshoe Mesa. We will hike out of the canyon on the 16th and return to San Antonio on Thursday the 17th.

I’ve added a new link to the sidebar—Grand Canyon Inventory. I wish I had done this some time ago. It will be very handy to have this page assessible and I can easily update it as needed. I have a seperate list for the AT that I’ll post sometime in the future.