Posted on

Escalante Route

Two years ago I intended to do the Escalante Route with Vivian but could not get permits. Imagine my relief when I received permits for this year’s spring break trip. I got my first choice and that enabled me to proceed with concrete planning for the trip. Here is a summary—

Sunday, March 8, 2015, Vivian and I will hike about 1/2 way down the Tanner Trail and set up camp. When I did the Tanner Trail with Sophia in March, 2012, we hiked to Tanner Beach the first day. That was a bit rough on my knees as the Tanner Trail has two very steep sections. By camping about 1/2 way down we will have completed 1 of the steep sections and leave the second for the next day.

Monday, March 9, 2015. The plan is to get to a campsite along the Colorado, somewhere between Tanner Beach and Hance Rapids.

Tuesday, March 10, 2015. The plan is to get near Hance Rapids

Wednesday, March 11, 2015. Hike about 1/2 way out of the canyon on the New Hance trail. We hope to camp near water that we happened across when Vivian and I hiked down the New Hance during March, 2011.

Thursday, March 12 we will hike out and should reach the rim before noon.

We’ll be HQ’ing at the Red Feather Lodge in Tusayan on March 7 and March 12 and return to San Antonio on the 13th.

Here is a link to some information about the Escalante Route http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Escalante_Route