Posted on

Done!

Vivian and I summited Katahdin, July 14, 2015 at 2:27 PM. My AT journey is over.

Appalachian Trail 2015
Vivian and GravelBoy, on the summit of Katahdin, on the AT in Maine.

This final section (Caratunk to Katahdin) was as challenging as anything I faced in New Hampshire and Maine. This surprised me a bit as I fully believed I had completed the most difficult sections on the AT. This last section was equal to them.

Vivian, my oldest daughter, hiked 141 of the 151 mile section with me. The only section she did not hike was the 10 miles from Abol Bridge to Katahdin Stream campsite. My wife Hedy walked that section with me-the easiest 10 miles in Maine. The other 141 miles were challenging.

Over the next couple of weeks I will be developing my trip report and going through my photos. I will have a static page for this final section hike, just like for the others. Selected photos will go on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *