Posted on

Cheyava Falls

Today I am attempting to concretize the hiking permits for Vivian and I to go to the Grand Canyon over the upcoming Spring break. The process has not been a smooth one as the original hiking permits, approved, no longer worked for us. We have different spring breaks this year and  I mistakenly organized a trip under the assumption we would be off at the same time. In one sense it is a good thing because for some reason my trip itinerary was ridiculous. I had us starting down the Grandview Trail and then heading over to the Kaibob and across to Phantom Ranch. I only allowed one overnight for this but if I had a closer look at the map I would have realized that we would need two overnights just to get to the Phantom Ranch area from the Grandview. That would be a trip in itself and there is no need to mix it up with a Cheyava Falls trip. The new request has a problem with the dates so I am going to phone them right now and see if I can nail down the dates. Hopefully we can do this Cheyava Falls trek.

OK, just now got off the phone with the Grand Canyon park ranger and we are set with our permits. We will be hiking into the Clear Creek area (down Bright Angel early morning of the 12th) and stay somewhere outside of Phantom Ranch where we can. Day two we will hike to Clear Creek and set up camp. Day three we will hike to Cheyava Falls and hope that the falls are running. Day four we will begin the trek back and Day five we will exit by way of the South Kaibob Trail.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *